babylon

been studying Revelation this year in Bible Study Fellowship. what a rich, powerful, hopeful book. used to be scary to me. a book I never understood. but it is alive in my heart this year. I am convicted once again of the power, truth and ALIVE-ness of God’s word. He has not changed. He is the same yesterday, today and forever. He is , and was and will come again.

we can bank on it.

Our God is victorious. He wins. over all evil. over all sin. He reigns both now and forevermore.

the imagery in Revelation is marvelous. dramatic. earth shattering. literally. there are consequences to sin. death and eternal separation from the Creator. but the HOPE the TRUTH is our Deliverer is coming. coming to set us free from our pain and suffering. his gift of grace extends to all who will believe. turn from their sin and choose Jesus. Savior who comes to set us free. coming back for you and for me.

daily I am growing more passionate about the quest to set the captives of human trafficking free. feeling the call to get involved. to lend my voice, my life, my energy to a cause bigger than myself. to do whatever God requires during the time that I have to live out the hashtag “rescue is coming” . I see the wide ranging truth in this statement. both for human trafficking slaves to the slaves to sin all around me. Rescue has come in Jesus Christ. and rescue is coming in the hands of men and women called to help the helpless caught in human trafficking.

I read Revelation 18: 9-13 this morning and saw clear as day God’s foretelling of these days. the evil. the injustices handed down to the innocent. His wrath will have its day. but until the day He returns, I am called to help where I can. I cannot ignore. I cannot pretend it doesn’t exist. I cannot be “too busy”. my Savior calls me to action. out of His great love for me, I must extend that same love, grace and mercy to the least of these

“When the kings of the earth who committed adultery with her and shared her luxury see the smoke of her burning, they will weep and mourn over her. 10 Terrified at her torment, they will stand far off and cry:

“‘Woe! Woe to you, great city,
    you mighty city of Babylon!
In one hour your doom has come!’

11 “The merchants of the earth will weep and mourn over her because no one buys their cargoes anymore— 12 cargoes of gold, silver, precious stones and pearls; fine linen, purple, silk and scarlet cloth; every sort of citron wood, and articles of every kind made of ivory, costly wood, bronze, iron and marble; 13 cargoes of cinnamon and spice, of incense, myrrh and frankincense, of wine and olive oil, of fine flour and wheat; cattle and sheep; horses and carriages; and human beings sold as slaves.

the “she” these verses are talking about is the great  prostitute Babylon. from her earliest beginnings, Babylon has been a picture of rebellion against God. today, the international culture of consumerism that exalts love of things over love of God or concern for people may be a type of “Babylon”. the prostitute Babylon not only satisfies such sinful desires, but she celebrates them. whenever and wherever we see proud and pretentious displays of power and luxurious prosperity joined with violence, injustice and rebellion against God, there is Babylon. we are living amidst Babylon right now.  it should sicken us. it sickens me.

my days are limited. numbered before I took my first breath. this truth is more real to me today due to the passing of a long time friend, groomsman at my wedding. sobering to realize our time is fleeting. I want my life to be purposeful. for my life to bring my Savior glory in all i say and do. I want my life to mean something. to know I did all that was asked of me.  this takes a daily determination. I cannot let life happen to me. I must engage. in every moment.  in the little  and the big. life happens in the quiet moments. impact is made when our character is lived out

let my life be lived out with integrity, honor, love, grace, joy, selflessness and mercy

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “babylon

  1. So sorry about the loss of your friend, but what gain if you move forward with urgency into helping others. I realize now that there are many kinds of slavery, and humans have always been held captive whether from obvious masters, or ones of their own doing. Engaging in setting the captives free is really the mission – the reason for the Cross – HUGS to you.

Leave a Reply

